South of The River Carpet Cleaning Minnesota - Groupon Scam + Poor Job Cleaning!

Muscatine, Iowa 0 comments

We paid for the highest Groupon ($85, which had a $200 value) but we ended up spending nearly $200 more. If I do the math, that should be a $400 value, right? Wrong. They only cleaned our main living area, one spare bedroom, stairs (which he said the voucher didn't cover BUT the response from the owner on the Groupon QA board said otherwise... Speaking of which Bruno was the one at our house, is that the owner?), the main hallway and the master bedroom. These don't total up to the 10 area total which I had purchased because we do have a few more carpeted rooms in our home. These areas didn't end up getting cleaned because they looked at them and said there was "no need" and that in their opinion, they "would not touch them" - well I inspected after the fact (trying to understand this recommendation) I'm sure at least one of the rooms should have been cleaned. I find it disappointing that professionals would advise otherwise.

So anyways, we didn't eat up the full value of the Groupon (area wise) but I still ended up paying $200 more. I do understand some of the extra charges (things that I OK'd that were clearly not included!) but when I do the math, the total value was absolutely not $400 (I've received quotes from "big name" vendors for far less but went with South of the River because I wanted to support a smaller, local company). The REAL issue I have and the reason why I would not recommend or use them again is the fact that they didn't do a complete job! The few rooms they did clean were not completely done. Per the instruction, we moved everything small in all rooms and even had the cleaners come the day before to make sure all areas were vacuumed deeply ready for carpet cleaning. The only items left were larger pieces (completely movable by two people). But, after they left, I realized they didn't move any of the furniture ONE inch (which again, they clearly mentioned was included as part of this deal). In our master bedroom, they literally cleaned the small area of carpet around our bed and dresser (I rearrange a lot - ALL areas could have benefited from being cleaned!). I didn't think I needed to walk through and check everything before they left, but I should have if I wanted the job done right. I do want to say the crew did a great job in the living room, but for the rest of the house, I mean seriously, you really think we wouldn't notice you didn't move anything, not even our bed? You just cleaned around – I could have done that!

Homeowners that hire carpet cleaners go out of their way to have this service done (stay home from work, make sure the kids and pets are out, etc) and it's really disappointing to have the completed job be lackluster, half-complete and over budget.

Review about: Sidewalk Damage.

South of the River Carpet Cleaning - SCAMMED and Took Advantage!!

Minneapolis, Minnesota 7 comments

This business is a complete scam!!!!!Do not use this company.

If you purchased a groupon like my family did get your money back from groupon before they even come to clean your carpet. He walked through my home with his shoes on when the stairs did not even need to be cleaned. We purchased 6 rooms to be cleaned and we have a bigger living room so we new that would be 2 rooms then the master bedroom and the child's room. None of the large furniture was moved in any of the rooms not even the couches that sit in the middle of the living room.

The carpets were so wet I could not even look at the carpets before they left. Not to mention he blew a fuse in my kitchen and i had no lights in my kitchen till my husband got home at 8pm. Nothing was mentioned to me about the blown fuse which they had to know because there was the smell of smoke in my home. They chose to dump the dirty water from their archaic machine into my large soakng tub where my infants bathtub sat which was soaked with dirty water and sand.

REALLY? There were stains of course and the first thing he does is starts spraying the spots without communicating that would cost 30$. Then he charged 60$ for sanitizer(isn't that part of cleaning carpets- sanitizing). Then Bruno did not communicate with me that the stairs were not part of the 6 rooms and charged 10$ a stair when the carpet was replaced 1 year ago so in reality did not need any cleaning.

He mentioned scotch guard and that it is good when u have children and he took that as me wanting it done to my carpets. Which was 100$. I should have asked more questions but i did not know that when you use a groupon that u already pay for that(since my husband dealt with groupon) so i thought the 70$ was included in that total. What did the 70$ actually pay for?

They could not give me a straight answer for that when I spoke with the company the next day.I ended up writing a check for 246$ and by the time my husband called to ask how it all went bout 15 mins later I told him about the check and he immediately put a stop payment on the check because 70$ should have been the total. Thought we caught it in time but found out the next day he cashed the check within 5 mins of leaving our home because our bank is so close. Can you say scam. I should have wrote the check to SOR.

It is so sad that you can't trust anyone in this world anymore. Let me warn you they are not MN nice.

This is really getting to me so i'm going to try my hardest to get some money back.zerorez is the way to go even though they sound expensive there are no surprises.

Comments

Anonymous
#484025

I had my carpets cleaned or shall I say half-cleaned on 5/3 using an Entertainment Coupon.I sensed trouble when they immediately tried to sell me spot pre-treatment and deodorizer.

Mind you, the first thing he said upon entering my front door was that my house smelled great! They also try to tell me it would cost me $10 per stair, then he went down to $8 and told me that the industry standard was $15. I've never paid that much before and won't. Usually I get the stairs cleaned as the same price as a room.

Anyway, I said forget the stairs. He decided to pre-treat them anyway and attempted to tell me if he doesn't clean the stairs now, they will turn black from all the foot traffic and chemicals. I said thanks, but no thanks. He could tell I was getting increasingly upset with the double talk and ended up cleaning them for no charge.

Really? And by the way, they said the reason the cost was so high for stairs is because they are difficult to clean. I watched him. It took him less then ten minutes to complete.

Overall it was a horrible experience. I plan to file a complaint with BBB today. I also suspect they took a bag from my counter in the kitchen. It's only my son and I in the house and no one else was here between the time I had the bag on the counter and it coming up missing.

(It was the very next day.) So annoyed with their poor customer service.

The carpet is cleaner, but certainly not a clean as it should have been.I now have to have someone else come back to clean my carpet.

Anonymous
#472220

I just had the EXACT same thing happen to me today when I used my Groupon for a carpet cleaning. I would NEVER use this cleaning service again. They added on a bunch of extra costs, were here for literally less than 15 minutes, tracked all over the house in their shoes, dumped water on our front lawn, made me keep calling back - about 5 times in total - when I was trying to schedule my appointment...I could go on and on...

Anonymous
#461837

Hello, sorry about your horrible experience. I would use the internet and file a free complaint with the BBB.

Anonymous
#454323

I called to find out about the special they offered and he said he would just honor the price--they must pay something towards online coupon to company so it worked out better for them.

They never even showed up the last night to clean and noone answered their phone. Thank God after reading reviews. I'll pay a little more for a good job and honest service thanks

Anonymous
#452998

We paid for the highest Groupon ($85, which had a $200 value) but we ended up spending nearly $200 more.If I do the math, that should be a $400 value, right?

Wrong. They only cleaned our main living area, one spare bedroom, stairs (which he said the voucher didn't cover BUT the response from the owner on the Groupon QA board said otherwise...), the main hallway and the master bedroom. These don't total up to the 10 area total which I had purchased because we do have a few more carpeted rooms in our home. These areas didn't end up getting cleaned because they looked at them and said there was "no need" and that in their opinion, they "would not touch them" - well I inspected after the fact (trying to understand this recommendation) I’m sure at least one of the rooms should have been cleaned.

I find it disappointing that professionals would advise otherwise.

So anyways, we didn't eat up the full value of the Groupon (area wise) but I still ended up paying $200 more. I do understand some of the extra charges (things that I OK'd that were clearly not included!) but when I do the math, the total value was absolutely not $400 (I've received quotes from "big name" vendors for far less but went with South of the River because I wanted to support a smaller, local company). I understand it's probably my fault I didn't push back more on the costs/price, so I'll accept that, but the REAL issue I have and the reason why I would not recommend or use them again is the fact that they didn't do a complete job!

The few rooms they did clean were not completely done. Per the instruction, we moved everything small in all rooms and even had the cleaners come the day before to make sure all areas were vacuumed deeply ready for carpet cleaning. The only items left were larger pieces (completely movable by two people). But, after they left, I realized they didn't move any of the furniture ONE inch (which again, they clearly mentioned was included as part of this deal).

In our master bedroom, they literally cleaned the small area of carpet around our bed and dresser (I rearrange a lot - ALL areas could have benefited from being cleaned!). I didn't think I needed to walk through and check everything before they left, but I should have if I wanted the job done right. I do want to say the crew did a great job in the living room, but for the rest of the house, I mean seriously, you really think we wouldn't notice you didn't move anything, not even our bed?

You just cleaned around – I could have done that!

Homeowners that hire carpet cleaners go out of their way to have this service done (stay home from work, make sure the kids and pets are out, etc) and it’s really disappointing to have the completed job be lackluster, half-complete and over budget.

Anonymous
Webb City, Missouri, United States #442644

Your story is exactly the same as what happened to my husband and I.We are expecting our first baby in a few weeks so we wanted to get our carpets cleaned.

Saw a good deal on Groupon and went for it ... VERY disappointed by this company.

Now only are our carpets not clean ...we spent $216 more after our $85 Groupon.

Anonymous
#438958

Why do we allow people to bash a company while hiding their own identity? Sounds like she got a *** deal, but to recommend zerorez smacks of an underhanded move by a competitor.

View more comments

South of the River Carpet Cleaning Lakeville Minnesota

Chicago, Illinois 14 comments

Bruno from South of the River Carpet Cleaning told me that the price of my carpet cleaning would be $175 and then when the service was completed it was $425!WTF!!!!

And then the carpet had spots that came back after 4 days of drying and the carpet was matted like it was a burber carpet and it was a ***!! Bruno was very unproffesional. He barked like a drill sergeant, he used my bathroom without asking and he dumped the water in my front yard!!

I would never have this ignorant man come to my house for any reason!!

Comments

Anonymous
#545572

Stay away from this company.I got a $49 coupon through the startribune to clean up to 5 rooms.

They were 5 hours late. When they finally showed up and cleaned the carpets they wanted to scotch guard the and deodorize at a rate of $25 a room for the 5 rooms. When they were done the bill was for $300!!!!

This was on top of the $49 we already paid.We did add some steps in but what they failed to mention is the $25 per room was only scotch guard, the deodorizer was an additional $25 per room.

Anonymous
#507603

I too bought the Groupon for $85 (to clean "10 areas").All said and done, they presented a $500 bill for "spot cleaning" and "scotchguarding" the carpet.

I feel they mispresented what the Groupon covered and did not disclose any other costs.

I feel I was totally taken advantage of and will not use them or recommend them to anyone.Buyer beware!

Anonymous
#502899

Similar to all of the stated issues, Bruno seemed nice but was unoprofessional and was late.We waited an hour for his technician to show up and he did not show so he rescheduled and was late again the 2nd time.

He charged $100 for the "pre-treat" when this was not mentioned on the groupon. We only have a 1/2 story with carpet so he basically did one room and stairs. Carpet is stiff and he didn't get any corners/trim so those parts are all still visibly dirty. I got screwed!

I will go through Stanley steamer next time!They do a great job!

Anonymous
#494800

Do not use South of the River Carpet Cleaning.These guys are south of reality.

I scheduled for 2-4. At 4:30 I called them. Oh, running late…how about 3-5. At 5:30 I called them.

Oh sorry, big job…maybe 6…how about 7 or 8? I told them absolutely not that late. They promised they'd be there at 8-9 am the next day. I called them at 9:30.

This time the call went to an answering machine. I left a message telling them to NOT come as I was too busy filing complaints with the BBB, entertainment.com, and the attorney general's office (which I have done.) At 9:45 they called to ask if they could still come. I told the no. The guy said there were complications.

They were now over 19 hours late!! Funny thing is, I hired a company from town and they showed up at exactly 12:00 noon as promised and did a great job. It's called SERVICE!

South of the River is a joke.

I am not trying to destroy their business…THEY are.:(

Anonymous
#474593

We had an EXTREMELY BAD EXPERIENCE with South of the River Carpet Cleaning. My Opinion: DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!

Anonymous
#473765

I have been going back and forth with the people at SOR for over a month now.I purchased the groupon deal and called to schedule my appointment right away.

From the get go these people have been telling me they are busy and I need to be patient. So I guess I should have expected this. I was a very patient consumer for over a month and after scheduling 4 different appointments, only for them to call and cancel two and not bother to show up at all for two I am just pissed! I have called the LivingSocial site I purchased my groupon from to get my money back...luckily they are more then happy to refund my money.

I absolutly do not recommend this business.Sadly, if they were trying to get more business going for themselves by having this promotion they failed miserably!!!

Anonymous
#452997

We paid for the highest Groupon ($85, which had a $200 value) but we ended up spending nearly $200 more.If I do the math, that should be a $400 value, right?

Wrong. They only cleaned our main living area, one spare bedroom, stairs (which he said the voucher didn't cover BUT the response from the owner on the Groupon QA board said otherwise...), the main hallway and the master bedroom. These don't total up to the 10 area total which I had purchased because we do have a few more carpeted rooms in our home. These areas didn't end up getting cleaned because they looked at them and said there was "no need" and that in their opinion, they "would not touch them" - well I inspected after the fact (trying to understand this recommendation) I’m sure at least one of the rooms should have been cleaned.

I find it disappointing that professionals would advise otherwise.

So anyways, we didn't eat up the full value of the Groupon (area wise) but I still ended up paying $200 more. I do understand some of the extra charges (things that I OK'd that were clearly not included!) but when I do the math, the total value was absolutely not $400 (I've received quotes from "big name" vendors for far less but went with South of the River because I wanted to support a smaller, local company). I understand it's probably my fault I didn't push back more on the costs/price, so I'll accept that, but the REAL issue I have and the reason why I would not recommend or use them again is the fact that they didn't do a complete job!

The few rooms they did clean were not completely done. Per the instruction, we moved everything small in all rooms and even had the cleaners come the day before to make sure all areas were vacuumed deeply ready for carpet cleaning. The only items left were larger pieces (completely movable by two people). But, after they left, I realized they didn't move any of the furniture ONE inch (which again, they clearly mentioned was included as part of this deal).

In our master bedroom, they literally cleaned the small area of carpet around our bed and dresser (I rearrange a lot - ALL areas could have benefited from being cleaned!). I didn't think I needed to walk through and check everything before they left, but I should have if I wanted the job done right. I do want to say the crew did a great job in the living room, but for the rest of the house, I mean seriously, you really think we wouldn't notice you didn't move anything, not even our bed?

You just cleaned around – I could have done that!

Homeowners that hire carpet cleaners go out of their way to have this service done (stay home from work, make sure the kids and pets are out, etc) and it’s really disappointing to have the completed job be lackluster, half-complete and over budget.

Anonymous
#452995

We paid for the highest Groupon ($85, which had a $200 value) but we ended up spending nearly $200 more. If I do the math, that should be a $400 value, right? Wrong. They only cleaned our main living area, one spare bedroom, stairs (which he said the voucher didn't cover BUT the response from the owner on the Groupon QA board said otherwise...), the main hallway and the master bedroom. These don't total up to the 10 area total which I had purchased because we do have a few more carpeted rooms in our home. These areas didn't end up getting cleaned because they looked at them and said there was "no need" and that in their opinion, they "would not touch them" - well I inspected after the fact (trying to understand this recommendation) I’m sure at least one of the rooms should have been cleaned. I find it disappointing that professionals would advise otherwise.

So anyways, we didn't eat up the full value of the Groupon (area wise) but I still ended up paying $200 more. I do understand some of the extra charges (things that I OK'd that were clearly not included!) but when I do the math, the total value was absolutely not $400 (I've received quotes from "big name" vendors for far less but went with South of the River because I wanted to support a smaller, local company). I understand it's probably my fault I didn't push back more on the costs/price, so I'll accept that, but the REAL issue I have and the reason why I would not recommend or use them again is the fact that they didn't do a complete job! The few rooms they did clean were not completely done. Per the instruction, we moved everything small in all rooms and even had the cleaners come the day before to make sure all areas were vacuumed deeply ready for carpet cleaning. The only items left were larger pieces (completely movable by two people). But, after they left, I realized they didn't move any of the furniture ONE inch (which again, they clearly mentioned was included as part of this deal). In our master bedroom, they literally cleaned the small area of carpet around our bed and dresser (I rearrange a lot - ALL areas could have benefited from being cleaned!). I didn't think I needed to walk through and check everything before they left, but I should have if I wanted the job done right. I do want to say the crew did a great job in the living room, but for the rest of the house, I mean seriously, you really think we wouldn't notice you didn't move anything, not even our bed? You just cleaned around – I could have done that!

Homeowners that hire carpet cleaners go out of their way to have this service done (stay home from work, make sure the kids and pets are out, etc) and it’s really disappointing to have the completed job be lackluster, half-complete and over budget.

Anonymous
#340294

They showed up late, used the bathroom (#2), and charged 3 times the estimate.A week later the carpet looked the same.

Do not use them.

I would give more details but I fear they will do something.JD

Anonymous
#196223

I would have to agree that Bruno is unprofessional and has terrible customer service skills.I had scheduled a cleaning a couple days ago.

We scheduled for 1-2pm today. Bruno called me this morning to try to move my appointment time, however, I was unable to switch. He then told me he would arrive at 2pm. At 2:30, he finally called me to let me know he was on his way, however, he was across town.

He did not arrive until 3pm. Neither when he arrived, nor on the phone, did he offer even a glimmer of an apology for being late. When I confronted him on this and expressed my frustration with him, he insisted that he did not need to apologize to me and gave me several excuses for being late. I would have been fine with him being over an hour late, had he simply said "I'm sorry I'm late", but for some reason, he thought he was above apologies.

He stormed out of my home without cleaning my carpets! Luckily, his office manager Manni, was able to schedule another cleaning for the same day, but it was with another company - a friend of Bruno's.

Bruno really shot himself in the foot.

I am on my condo association board and had he done a professional job and not stomped out like a stubborn, childish adolescent, he may have been recommended for future work in our building and the other 20 units in our building.I will never be using this company again.

Anonymous
#84112

We're getting a couple of false accusations lately, just want to clear this up with our company name.

We have a lot very satisfied repeat customers in the past 10 years of business, and these complains do not fit the way we do business!

Also tried to find the invoices to these customers with complaints, we have no records showing these amounts were charged! It was all a scam myth to ruin our name!

Anonymous
#84090

This is false accusation! Did not do this job or have any coupon offerings of $175. All jobs have an estimate upfront before we start the service and have permission to start job from customer.

Was also were out of town 1st 2 weeks in October!

A scam person trying to ruin my business name!

Anonymous
#84068

This is a false statement regarding from this customer.

Did not do this job, someone else used my name as a disguise.

Thank you

SOR Carpet Cleaning

Anonymous
#78900

Bruno is truly unprofessional and a liar.He is the kind of a guy who is giving the carpet cleaning industry a bad name.

He refused to honor his own coupon and I ended paying around $500 instead of $175 as shown on the coupon.

He dumped the dirty water in my fron yard.This is a shady business, stay away!!!!!!

View more comments

You May Also Like